Who We Are
Who We Are
Who We Are
Who We Are
The Gwich'in Region
The Land Use Plan
The Planning Cycle
Contact Us


Provision for the Gwich'in Land Use Planning Board was made through the Gwich'in Comprehensive Land Claim Agreement in 1992. Soon after the Land Claim was signed, the Planning Board operated as an interim board until it was officially established by the Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act in 1998. The Planning Board developed and will implement a land use plan for the Gwich'in Settlement Area. In following the principles outlined in the Land Claim and the Mackenzie Valley Act, the Planning Board developed a land use plan that provides for the conservation, development and utilization of land, water and resources. The plan is particularly devoted to the needs of the Gwich'in, while considering the needs of all Canadians.


The Planning Board has five members. The Gwich'in Tribal Council nominates two members and the Government of the Northwest Territories and Government of Canada each nominate one member. These four members then nominate a chairperson. The Planning Board is a public board and the Minister of Indian and Northern Affairs appoints each of the nominees to be members. Once appointed, members represent the interests of the public, not the interests of the group that nominated them. They have a three year term.

The current board members are:

Bob Simpson, Chair
Grant Gowans - GTC nomination
Conrad Baetz- Federal nomination
Gerry Kisoun - GNWT nomination
Ashley Ens - GTC nomination


Susan McKenzie, Executive Director/Land Use Planner
Vince Deschamps, M.Sc., MCIP, RPP, Senior Planner



Copyright © 2023 Gwich'in Land Use Planning Board